Parish Groups

Our Parish Council

Pastoral Committee

The Pastoral Council was established on 15th May 1999 as a group of lay men and women, who work collectively and share responsibility with our Parish Priest to build the parish as a living Christian community, committed to spreading the Word of God.

The committee meet on the first Tuesday of each month.


  • To identify the needs of the parish community and involve the whole parish in response to these needs.
  • To support parishioners in living up to their baptismal call as followers of Christ.
  • To provide structures which will combine the needs of the parish with the talents of parishioners and resources within the parish.
  • To ensure that parishioners are informed about what is happening within the parish, the diocese and the wider community.
  • To review the life and activities of the parish and provide opportunities for parishioners to be involved in the development of the parish.


Committee Members

Chairperson: Mrs. Margaret Harty

Fr. Charles Byrne

Mrs. Anne Cassidy

Mrs. Vera Fegan

Mr. Maurice Fitzpatrick

Mr Michael Keenan

Mr. John Knapton

Mrs. Leona Loughran

Mr. Sean Magill

Mr. Gerard Mc Kay

Mr Francis Mc Mahon

Mrs. Sonya Mc Polin

Mrs. Kate Murdock

Mrs. Sinead Ward


Finance Committee

This committee supports the Parish Priest in the management of the parish finances and for resourcing initiatives and projects within the parish.

Committee Members

Fr Charles Byrne PP

Mr. Eddie Byrne

Mr. Patrick Campbell

Mr. Christy Hennity

Mr. Leonard Kelly

Mrs. Kathleen Mc Ardle

Mr. Dan Mc Kernan

Mr. Joe Mc Loughlin



St. Mary’s Senior Choir has a long and distinguished tradition in Church Music. Its aim is to enhance the many and varied Liturgical celebrations throughout the year, including the 10.00am Mass each Sunday.

New members and former members are always welcome.


Mrs. Margaret Harty

Miss Catherine Keenan


St Mary’s Folk Group

Recently established, this group has greatly enhanced the Vigil Mass Liturgy:


Mr. Sean Magill


Eucharistic Ministers

This very important and special ministry supports the priest with distribution of Holy Communion at Mass and when required to bring Holy Communion to the sick and housebound.


Ministers of The Word

This group of people is responsible for proclaiming the Word of God at all Masses.
A monthly rota is prepared for Eucharistic Ministers and Ministers of the Word and this is published in the Parish Bulletin.


Mr Maurice Fitzpatrick


Altar Servers

This group of young parishioners are called to Serve Mass with devotion, understanding and respect, remembering that serving at Mass is an honour and a special responsibility. New servers are commissioned at a special ceremony during Advent. Monthly rotas are published in the bulletin.


Mrs. Anne Cassidy

Mr. Francis Mc Mahon

Mrs. Leona Loughran


Church Collectors and Counters

This parish group assists with Church collections at the weekends and on any other special occasions.

Contact: Mr. Francis Mc Mahon


Lourdes Committee

Our Parish is actively involved in the Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes. This group works in organising and fundraising for the annual trip.

Contact:  Mr Christy Hennity


Legion of Mary

This group pays homage to Our Lady through prayer and active service in our parish. Members visit homes, hospitals and schools to promote the work of the legion.

Contact: Mrs Vera Fegan


St Joseph’s Young Priests

This society works to support our priests and promote vocations to the priesthood, financially and through prayer.

Contact: Mrs Vera Fegan


St Vincent de Paul 

St. Mary’s Conference of St. Vincent de Paul works to assist those who are in need and those who are disadvantaged within our area, irrespective of creed. Members also visit homes where help is needed, providing practical help.

Contact: Helpline . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 07921876219


Youth Ministry

In the Parish there are a number of trained Youth Ministers who co-ordinate the Pope John Paul Award and youth based support programmes. Youth Ministers promote the participation of the youth in all aspects of parish life.


Mr Maurice Fitzpatrick

Mrs Sonya Mc Polin

Mrs Leona Loughran


Child Protection/Safeguarding Team

This team assists the Parish Priest ensuring that diocesan policies and procedures are in place and implemented by all church organisations. Child Protection training is given to relevant parish groups and updated when appropriate.

Designated Person for Safeguarding:                

Mrs. Pat Carville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 07789917741

Parish Representative:  

Mr Patrick Campbell


Members of Parish Team:  

Fr. Charles Byrne pp

Mr. Patrick Campbell

Mrs. Anne Cassidy

Mrs. Rosemary Connolly

Mr. Francis Mc Mahon

Mr. Noel Mussen


St Mary’s Mission Outreach – Parish of Turkwel, Lodwar, Kenya

St. Mary’s Parish is twinned with St. Kizito Parish, Turwel. Our link parish is supported through our prayers and financial support which helps to fund essential projects in Turkwel.

Contact: Mrs Rosemary Connolly


Alcoholics Anonymous

The Alcoholics Anonymous support group meets in the Church Committee Room every Tuesday at 8.30pm, Thursday at 1.00pm and Saturday at 8.30pm.


Schools and Pre-Schools

Carrick Primary School

61, Ballydesland Road, Burren, Warrenpoint, Co. Down, BT34 3QA

Principal: Mrs Anne Cassidy

Contact Details:  Telephone: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 028 417 52448


Vision Statement:           Forward Together

                                         “Ar Agháidh le Chéile”.


Carrick National School was founded in 1839. The school moved into new premises in 1939. A large scale renovation was undertaken in 1979 and the school’s enrolment has continued to grow steadily since then.
In 2004 the decision to build a new school was announced, and in March 2010, we had the “Cutting of the First Sod”. The school was completed by O’Hare and McGovern Contractors in August 2012 and staff and pupils moved into the new school in September 2012.There are currently 16 teachers in the school and a staff of almost 40. We have 410 pupils enrolled currently.


Busy Bees Pre-School– St. Mary’s Community Hall

St Mary’s Hall, Bridge Road, Burren, Warrenpoint

The Pre-School is open Mondays to Fridays from 8.45am to 12.00 noon for children of pre-school age.

Contact: Ciara Mc Gowan (Leader) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 028 417 73478


Carrick Pre-School

63, Ballydesland Road, Burren, Warrenpoint, BT34 3QA

The Pre-School is opened for children of pre-school age from Monday to Friday from 9.00am – 12.00 noon.

Contact: Marie Mc Neany (Leader). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 028 417 52159